"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein

Welcome

The department of statistics takes great pride in the teaching and research accomplishments of its faculty. Many have been the recipients of prestigious awards and are recognized internationally in their fields; are engaged in ground-breaking research at the forefront of diverse fields of science; serve as editors of prestigious peer-reviewed scientific journals; and have authored books in areas such as linear models and regression, time series analysis, statistical theory, and stochastic processes which have become standard texts in statistics courses throughout the world.
Department Chair:
Jean D. Opsomer, Professor & Department Chair; Ph.D., Cornell University, 1995

Member, ISI; Fellow, ASA; Fellow, IMS; Associate Editor, Journal of the Royal Statistical Society (Series B), Electronic Journal of Statistics and Survey Methodology. Survey statistics, nonparametric statistics, environmental statistics. jopsomer@stat.colostate.edu

Associate Chair:
F. Jay Breidt, Professor & Associate Chair; Ph.D., Colorado State, 1991
Fellow, ASA; Member, ISI; Member, Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee; Associate Editor, Journal of Forecasting, Environmental and Ecological Statistics. Time series analysis, statistical inference in finite population sampling, natural resources monitoring. jbreidt@stat.colostate.edu
 
Faculty:
Jana Anderson, Distance Degree Program Coordinator, Ph.D.,Colorado State, 1992.
Member, ASA. Developments in Statistical Education. anderson@stat.colostate.edu
Asa Ben-Hur, Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Statistics, Ph.D.,Technion: Israel Institute of Technology, 2001
Bioinformatics, applications of machine learning in bioinformatics. asa@cs.colostate.edu
Phillip L. Chapman, Professor and Experiment Station Statistician; Ph.D., Minnesota, 1985.
Bootstrap and resampling methods, applied linear modeling, statistics in agriculture, biological and environmental sciences, statistical consulting. chapman@stat.colostate.edu
Dan Cooley, Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 2005
Member,  ASA.  Extreme values, spatial statistics, environmental/climatological applications. cooleyd@stat.colostate.edu
Don Estep, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics, Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1987
Member AMS, ASA, SIAM. Associate editor, Siam Journal on Numerical Analysis, Int. J. Computer Math., Member, Siam Education Committee. Co-Director, PRIMES. Director, CIMS. Computational differential equations, solution and analysis of multiscale, multiphysics problems, sensitivity analysis, density estimation, data assimilation, adaptive error control and sampling, dynamical systems. estep@math.colostate.edu
Geof H. Givens, Associate Professor; Ph.D., Washington, 1993.
Member, ASA. Bayesian methods, statistical computing, face recognition algorithms; bowhead whales and marine mammal population dynamics.   geof@stat.colostate.edu
Ann Hess, Special Appointment Assistant Professor; Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2005.
Bioinformatics, Microarray/Gene Expression Analysis, Proteomics, Experimental Design, Linear Models. hess@stat.colostate.edu
Jennifer A. Hoeting, Professor; Ph.D., Washington, 1994.
Member, ASA, Chair ASA Section on Statistics and the Environment,
Associate Editor Journal of the American Statistical Association, Environmetrics, and Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics;  Bayesian statistics, model selection and uncertainty, statistical methods to address ecological problems. jah@stat.colostate.edu
Mevin B. Hooten, Assistant Professor; Ph.D.,University of Missouri, 2006.
Member, ASA, IMS; Spatial, Temporal, and Spatio-Temporal Ecological and Environmental Modeling using Bayesian Methods and Hierarchical Models. mevin.hooten@colostate.edu
Hari K. Iyer, Professor; Ph.D. (Mathematics), Notre Dame, 1975; Ph.D. (Statistics), Colorado State, 1980.
Fellow, ASA; Linear models, variance components, experimental design, permutation methods, pharmaceutical statistics, environmental statistics, microarrays, bioinformatics. hari@stat.colostate.edu
Piotr Kokoszka, Professor; Ph.D., Boston University, 1993
Member, ASA; Associate Editor:Statistical Modeling, Computational Statistics. Time series analysis, functional data analysis, asymptotic theory. Piotr.Kokoszka@colostate.edu
Chihoon Lee, Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2008.
Member, ASA, IMS. Probability, Stochastic analysis, Queueing networks, Stochastic control, Particle methods. chihoon@stat.colostate.edu
Myung-Hee Lee, Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 2007.
Member, ASA. High dimensional low sample size inference, multivariate analysis, bioinformatics. mhlee@stat.colostate.edu
Mary C Meyer, Professor; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1996.
Member, ASA, IMS.  Editorial board, Chance Magazine.  Nonparametric function estimation and inference using shape restrictions. meyer@stat.colostate.edu
Louis Scharf, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Statistics; Ph.D., Washington (Seattle), 1969.
Fellow, IEEE; Member, IEEE Technical Committee on Theory and Methods in Multichannel Signal Processing. Statistical signal processing for wireless communication, instrumentation, radar, and sonar. scharf@engr.colostate.edu
Rui Song, Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006.
Member, ASA; High-dimensional statistical learning, Semiparametric inference and Empirical processes; Survival analysis. song@stat.colostate.edu
Haonan Wang, Associate Professor; PhD, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 2003.
Member, ASA, IMS. Functional data analysis and application; multivariate analysis; statistical methodology on populations of trees. wanghn@stat.colostate.edu
James R. zumBrunnen, Associate Director, Franklin A. Graybill Statistical Laboratory and Center for Applied Statistical Expertise (CASE); MS, Iowa State, 1975.
Member, ASA. General statistical consulting; use of statistical computer programs and the interpretation of results; statistical computing. zumbrunnen@stat.colostate.edu

Emeritus Faculty:
Thomas J. Boardman, Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., Rutgers, 1968.
Fellow, ASA, ASQC; Member, ISI; Member, Board of Directors, ASA; Past president, WNAR of the Biometric Society. Quality improvement and statistical thinking, statistical graphics and computing, consulting, statistical methodology in biological research. boardman@stat.colostate.edu
Duane C. Boes, Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Purdue, 1963.
Member, ISI. Stochastic modeling and time series analysis of geophysical phenomena, statistical inference, reservoir and storage theory. boes@stat.colostate.edu
David C. Bowden, Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Colorado State, 1968.  
Simultaneous inference in linear models, finite population sampling theory and applications, statistical theory in biometry. bowden@stat.colostate.edu
Peter J. Brockwell, Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Australian National Univ., 1967.
Fellow, IMS; Fellow, ASA; Member, ISI; Associate Editor, Journal of Time Series Analysis; Associate Editor, Japanese Journal of Statistics, Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics. Stochastic processes and applications, time series analysis , financial mathematics, inference for stochastic processes.  pjbrock@stat.colostate.edu
 
Paul W. Mielke, Jr., Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., Minnesota, 1963.

Editorial Board, Environmental and Ecological Statistics; Associate Editor, Journal of Applied Meteorology; Assistant Editor, Journal of Statistical Planning and Inference; Fellow, ASA. Permutation inference procedures, nonparametric techniques, parametric approximations, simulation investigations, quantal assay methods, weather modification studies, climate predictions.
mielke@stat.colostate.edu

Mohammed M. Siddiqui, Professor Emeritus; Ph.D., North Carolina, 1957.
Fellow, ASA. Time series analysis, robust estimation, stochastic processes, extreme values, order statistics, distribution theory, applications of probability theory to hydrology, atmospheric sciences demography, clinical trials, radio propagation. siddiqui@stat.colostate.edu
Post-Docs:
 
Instructors:
Rick Gumina, Instructor, MS Colorado State University 1998, Statistics Education. 
Resampling techniques in process control, advances in educational testing and measurement theory, advances in technology as applied to learning, retention, and classroom delivery.
gumina@stat.colostate.edu
Mark Dahlke, Instructor, Ph.D. Student, Colorado State University, Statistics
Earned MS degree in Statistics at CSU, Fall 2009. Moved from Nebraska to complete his PhD degree. Mark has been teaching STAT204 since Fall09 semester. dahlkem7@gmail.com


Faculty Affiliates:
Biggerstaff, Brad J,
CDC Foothills Campus, Fort Collins, CO 80523 (970-221-6473)
Burnham, Kenneth P
U.S Fish & Wildlife Service, 201 JVK Wagar Bldg. CSU (970-491-5396)
Engeman, Richard M
National Wildlife Research Center, 4101 LaPorte Av, Fort Collins, CO 80521 (970-266-6091)
richard.m.engeman@aphis.usda.gov
McDonald, Lyman
WEST, Inc., 2003 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307-634-0156) lymanmcd@uswest.net
Nychka, Douglas W
Climate/Global Dynamics Div, NCAR, Boulder, CO 80307 (303-497-1711) nychka@ucar.edu
Sain, Steve
Geophysical Statistics Project, Institute for Mathematics Applied to Geosciences,NCAR, P.O.Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000 (303-497-1709)
ssain@ucar.edu
Troutman, Brent M
USGS, Box 25046/MS418, Denver Fed Center, Denver CO 80225 (970-236-5038)
Urquhart, N. Scott , Professor; PhD, Colorado State University, 1965.
Program Director, Space-Time Aquatic Re sources Modeling and Analysis Program (STARMAP). (970-491-3834)
nsu@stat.colostate.edu
Vecchia, Aldo (Skip)
USGS, 821 E Interstate Ave, Bismarck, ND 58501 (701-250-4641) avecchia@usgs.gov
Wang, Jack C. Ming
NIST, 325 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80303 (303-497-3843)

Last updated: May 14, 2012