Faculty & Staff


The department of statistics takes great pride in the teaching and research accomplishments of its faculty. Many have been the recipients of prestigious awards and are recognized internationally in their fields; are engaged in ground-breaking research at the forefront of diverse fields of science; serve as editors of prestigious peer-reviewed scientific journals; and have authored books in areas such as linear models and regression, time series analysis, statistical theory, and stochastic processes which have become standard texts in statistics courses throughout the world.

Please scroll down the page to view the department faculty, joint faculty, instructors, and staff.

Department Chair

spacer
Don Estep

Don Estep
University Interdisciplinary Research Scholar, Professor of Statistics, Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1987
Member AMS, ASA, SIAM. University Interdisciplinary Research Scholar; Chair (founding), SIAM Activity Group on Uncertainty Quantification; Editor in Chief (founding), SIAM / ASA J. Uncertainty Quantification; Editor in Chief, SIAM CS&E Book Series; Editorial Boards of SIAM J. Numer. Analysis, Inter. J. Uncertainty Quantification, Multiphysics Modeling Book Series, J. Appl. Math. Comput.; Director of CIMS (a CSU PRSE)
Computational differential equation, a posteriori error analysis, inverse problems for parameter determination, numerical analysis for multiscale, multiphysics problems, sensitivity analysis, density estimation, adaptive error control, dynamical systems.
Email: estep@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 102A

 

 

Associate Chair

spacer

 

Dan Cooley

Dan Cooley
Associate Chair & Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder, 2005
Member, ASA, IMS, TIES. Associate Editor: Environmetrics; STAT; and Advances in Statistical Climatology, Meteorology and Oceanography
Extreme values, spatial statistics, environmental/climatological applications
Email: cooleyd@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 217

Faculty

spacer
Jana Anderson

Jana Anderson
Associate Professor & Director for MAS/ Online Learning Programs
Ph.D. ,Colorado State, 1992
Member, ASA.

Developments in statistical education,statistical computing
Email: anderson@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 207

F. Jay Breidt

F. Jay Breidt
Professor
Ph.D., Colorado State, 1991
Fellow, ASA; Member, ISI; Member, Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee; Associate Editor, Journal of Forecasting, Environmental and Ecological Statistics.
statistical inference in finite population sampling, natural resources monitoring.
Email: jbreidt@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 201

Phillip L. Chapman

Phillip L. Chapman
Professor and Experiment Station Statistician
Ph.D., Minnesota, 1985
Bootstrap and resampling methods, applied linear modeling, statistics in agriculture, biological and environmental sciences, statistical consulting.
Email: chapman@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 214

Mark Dahlke

Mark Dahlke
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2012
Nonparametric statistics, survey statistics, education.
Email: mark.dahlke@colostate.edu
Office: 206

Geof H. Givens

Bailey Fosdick
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington, 2013
Member, ASA
Statistical analysis of network data, Bayesian methodology, covariance models for multiway data, social science applications.
Email: bailey.fosdick@colostate.edu
Office: 205

Sarah Garza

Sarah J Garza
Instructor
M.S., Colorado State University, 2013
Simulations, spatial statistics, biostatistics used in wildlife, ecological, environmental, and biological situations; population dynamics
Email: sarah.garza@rams.colostate.edu
Office: 204

Ann Hess

Ann Hess
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2005
Statistical consulting, applied linear modelling, bioinformatics
Email: hess@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 218

Jennifer A. Hoeting

Jennifer A. Hoeting
Professor
Ph.D., Washington, 1994.
Fellow, ASA; Founding Editor, Advances in Statistical Climatology, Meteorology and Oceanography (ASCMO); Associate Editor Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics
Bayesian statistics, model selection and uncertainty, statistical methods to address ecological problems.
Email: jah@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 209

Mevin Hooten

Mevin B. Hooten
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, 2006
Fellow, ASA; Associate Editor, Annals of Applied Statistics, Environmetrics, and Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics
Spatial, Temporal, and Spatio-Temporal Ecological and Environmental Modeling using Bayesian Methods and Hierarchical Models.
Email: mevin.hooten@colostate.edu
Office: 201 Wagar

Piotr Kokozska

Piotr Kokoszka
Professor
Ph.D., Boston University, 1993
Member, IMS
Associate Editor: Journal of Time Series Analysis, Journal of Multivariate Analysis, Econometrics and Statistics, Computational Statistics and Data Analysis, Scandinavian Journal of Statistics
Time series analysis, functional data analysis, asymptotic theory.
Email: Piotr.Kokoszka@colostate.edu
Office: 202

Mary C Meyer

Mary C Meyer
Undergraduate Director & Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1996
Member, ASA, IMS. Editorial board, Chance Magazine
Nonparametric function estimation and inference using shape restrictions.
Email: meyer@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 212

Jean Opsomer

Jean Opsomer
Professor
Member, ISI; Fellow, IMS and ASA; Board of Trustees of National of Statistical Sciences, Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics; Associate Editor, Journal of the Royal Statistical Society (Series B) and Journal of the American Statistical Association.
Survey statistics, nonparametric statistics, environmental statistics.
Email: jopsomer@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 211

Ben Prytherch

Ben Prytherch
Undergraduate Advisor and Instructor
MS, Colorado State, 2013
Email: prytherc@stat.colostate.edu
Office: Statistics 105

Louis Scharf

Louis Scharf
Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
Ph.D., Washington (Seattle), 1969
Fellow, IEEE; Member, IEEE Technical Committee on Theory and Methods in Multichannel Signal Processing
Statistical signal processing for wireless communication, instrumentation, radar, and sonar.
Email: scharf@math.colostate.edu
Office: 126 Weber

 

Ben Sharp
Statistics Consultant
Email:
Office: STAT 224

Julia Sharp

Julia Sharp
Associate Professor and Franklin A. Graybill Statistical Laboratory Director
Ph.D., Montana State University, 2007
Member ASA
Statistical consulting, statistical applications, experimental design and analysis
Email:jlsharp@colostate.edu
Office: STAT 225

Haonan Wang

Phil Turk
Associate Professor and Statistical Consultant
Ph.D., Montana State University, 2003
Member, ASA
Statistical computing, adaptive cluster sampling, response surface methodology, statistical applications in natural sciences
Email: pturk@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 200

Zach Weller

Zach Weller
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2017
Member, ASA, IBS, AGU
Bayesian, spatial, and nonparametric statistics applied to ecological, environmental, and biological problems; statistical education
Email: wellerz@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 222

Haonan Wang

Haonan Wang
Graduate Director & Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, 2003
Member, ASA, IMS
Functional analysis and application, big data analytics, statistical methodology on populations of trees, functional dynamic modeling of neuron activities, spatial statistics
Email: wanghn@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 216

Ander Wilson

Ander Wilson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. North Carolina State University, 2014
Bayesian statistics, confounder selection and model uncertainty, environmental statistics, public health, air pollution epidemiology
Email: ander.wilson@colostate.edu
Office: 221

Louis Scharf

Wen Zhou
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Statistics, Iowa State University, 2014; Ph.D. Applied Mathematics, Iowa State University, 2010.
Member ASA, IMS, SIAM
Statistical machine learning, high-dimensional data inference, Bayesian statistics, inverse problems, empirical likelihood, optimization, statistical genomics, bioinformatics and computational biology
Email: riczw@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 208

Emeritus Faculty

spacer
Thomas J. Boardman

Thomas J. Boardman
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Rutgers, 1968
Fellow, ASA, ASQC; Member, ISI; Member, Board of Directors, ASA; Past president, WNAR of the Biometric Society.
Quality improvement and statistical thinking, statistical graphics and computing, consulting, statistical methodology in biological research.
Email: boardman@stat.colostate.edu

Duane C. Boes

Duane C. Boes
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Purdue, 1963
Member, ISI
Stochastic modeling and time series analysis of geophysical phenomena, statistical inference, reservoir and storage theory.
Email: boes@stat.colostate.edu

David C. Bowden

David C. Bowden
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Colorado State, 1968
Simultaneous inference in linear models, finite population sampling theory and applications, statistical theory in biometry.
Email: bowden@stat.colostate.edu

Peter J. Brockwell

Peter J. Brockwell
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Australian National Univ., 1967
Fellow, IMS; Fellow, ASA; Member, ISI; Associate Editor, Journal of Time Series Analysis; Associate Editor, Japanese Journal of Statistics, Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics.
Stochastic processes and applications, time series analysis , financial mathematics, inference for stochastic processes.
Email: pjbrock@stat.colostate.edu

Geof Givens

Geof Givens
Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Washington, 1993
Member, ASA. Associate Editor, Computational Statistics and Data Analysis; Associate Editor, Australian and New Zealand Journal of Statistics; Series Advisor, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Statistical conservation biology; Biometric human recognition; Statistical computing; environmental applications
Email: geof@stat.colostate.edu

Hari K. Iyer

Hari K. Iyer
Professor
Ph.D. (Mathematics), Notre Dame, 1975; Ph.D. (Statistics), Colorado State, 1980
Fellow, ASA
Linear models, variance components, experimental design, permutation methods, pharmaceutical statistics, environmental statistics, microarrays, bioinformatics.
Email: hari@stat.colostate.edu

Paul W. Mielke, Jr.

Paul W. Mielke, Jr.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Minnesota, 1963
Editorial Board, Environmental and Ecological Statistics; Associate Editor, Journal of Applied Meteorology; Assistant Editor, Journal of Statistical Planning and Inference; Fellow, ASA.
Permutation inference procedures, nonparametric techniques, parametric approximations, simulation investigations, quantal assay methods, weather modification studies, climate predictions.
Email: mielke@stat.colostate.edu

Mohammed M. Siddiqui

Mohammed M. Siddiqui
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., North Carolina, 1957
Fellow, ASA.
Time series analysis, robust estimation, stochastic processes, extreme values, order statistics, distribution theory, applications of probability theory to hydrology, atmospheric sciences demography, clinical trials, radio propagation.
Email: siddiqui@stat.colostate.edu

 

Staff

spacer
Kristin Stephens

Karena Alons
MAS Coordinator
Email: alons@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 102

Katy Jackson

Katy Jackson
Undergraduate Coordinator
Email: jackson@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 102

Adrian Macdonald
Finance Officer Statistics
Email: macdonal@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 102

Kristin Stephens

Kristin Stephens
Assistant to the Chair and Graduate Coordinator
Departmental administration, class scheduling, admissions.
Email: stephens@stat.colostate.edu
Office: 102

Zube

Zube
Computer Systems Administrator.
Email: zube@stat.colostate.edu

Faculty Affiliates

spacer
Brad J. Biggerstaff

Brad J. Biggerstaff
CDC Foothills Campus, Fort Collins, CO 80523 (970-221-6473)

Kenneth P Burnham

Kenneth P Burnham
U.S Fish & Wildlife Service, 201 JVK Wagar Bldg. CSU (970-491-5396)

Richard M Engeman

Richard M Engeman
National Wildlife Research Center, 4101 LaPorte Av, Fort Collins, CO 80521 (970-266-6091)
Email: richard.m.engeman@aphis.usda.gov

Lyman McDonald

Lyman McDonald
WEST, Inc., 2003 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307-634-0156) Email: lymanmcd@uswest.net

Douglas W Nychka

Douglas W Nychka
Climate/Global Dynamics Div, NCAR, Boulder, CO 80307 (303-497-1711) Email: nychka@ucar.edu

Douglas W Nychka

David Otis
USGS (Retired), Ft. Collins, CO (970-682-1837) Email: david.otis@colostate.edu

Steve Sain

Steve Sain
Geophysical Statistics Project, Institute for Mathematics Applied to Geosciences,NCAR, P.O.Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80307-3000 (303-497-1709) Email: ssain@ucar.edu

Brent M Troutman

Brent M Troutman
USGS, Box 25046/MS418, Denver Fed Center, Denver CO 80225 (970-236-5038)

Scott N. Urquhart

N. Scott Urquhart
Professor
PhD, Colorado State University, 1965
Program Director, Space-Time Aquatic Re sources Modeling and Analysis Program (STARMAP). (970-491-3834)
Email: nsu@stat.colostate.edu

Jack C. Ming Wang

Jack C. Ming Wang
NIST, 325 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80303 (303-497-3843)

Fellow, ASA; Associate Editor, Annals of Applied Statistics, Environmetrics, and Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics